Recovery

7 Jun

Though I was tired last night, I thought my muscles were recovering nicely. I noticed very little soreness and my legs weren’t as tight as I thought they would be. My falsely optimistic self decided that stretching was unnecessary. I deluded myself into thinking that I would be fine–no recovery necessary. I conveniently “forgot” that Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness existed.  

Well, I found out this morning that it does.  

Ok, its not terrible but I certainly was feeling it. Tight hamstrings, sore quads and an especially sore upper body (did I mention I’m NOT a swimmer!)…boo. I have some MAJOR stretching and foam-rolling to do!  

Ok here’s the food:  

Breakfast

Kashi Go Lean with 2% milk and a Banana. Black Coffee to drink.

 I rarely have cereal and milk. I usually have my cereal with greek yogurt, but when I opened my tub of Chobani this morning, it was kinda yellow looking so I tossed it and settled for 2nd best.  

 Lunch

   

Tomatoes and Carrots

 

Turkey with Spinach and Herbs in a Whole Wheat Pita.

This sandwich was so good! I used fresh herbs that we’re growing at home. one half had oregano and the other half had cilantro. The turkey is Boar’s Head Peppermill Turkey–my fave!
 

Gala Apple

Snack

Apple. Mighty Maple. Pretzels.

 Dinner

  

Dinner was a 3 egg white quesadilla with mexican cheese and onions, a Spinach salad with a baby cucumber, salsa on the side! I also threw some leftover chicken on my salad because I needed something more. The eggs were so good though! We had to buy fresh eggs because I made Tiramisu this weekend and it has raw eggs in it. These are organic, Free-Range eggs and they’re beautiful! Don’t worry, though, the Tiramisu only had egg yolks so these were the left-over whites. I wouldn’t waste these babies!  

More Snackage

A serving of Mixed Nuts. 2 Squares of Ghiradelli Milk Chocolate. 2 Marshmallows.

   

 Questions:   

1.) What do you do for recovery? I need some good tips!  

2.) What should I do with the rest of my eggs? Like I said…no wasting!  

3 Responses to “Recovery”

  1. brandi June 8, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    dangit, I need to find that mighty maple! 🙂

    • Eliza June 8, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      yesss! its so good. i found it and bought up a TON! let me know if you want me to send you some!

  2. janetha June 10, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    homemade tiramisu? marshall would die if i made that for him!

Leave a Reply

